Biblio Spotlight: The Chronicles of Nick


Book Series: The Chronicles of Nick

Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon

Debut: May 2010

Series Order:

  1. Infinity (2010)
  2. Invincible (2011)
  3. Infamous (2012)
  4. Inferno (2013)
  5. Illusion (2014)
  6. Instinct (2015)
  7. Invision – to be released March 2016

The Hook: The paranormal element, New Orleans, and I’ve always liked the name Nick.

I have to admit. I first plucked Infinity off the shelves, back in 2013 sometime, because of its cover. The fact that it said “Chronicles of Nick” was also a reason (like I said, I always liked the name Nicholas). The artwork grabbed my attention too. A sucker for symbols, the circle … medallion (for lack of a better description) as a backdrop for Nick made me curious. However, I immediately put it back on the shelf when I read the words “The sound of zombies …” Oh yeah. I am not a zombie fan. In fact, out of the supernatural/paranormal world, zombies are the one creature I can say I almost hate. They make me squeamish *shudders*.

So, I put it back on the shelf and didn’t give it much thought until a few weeks later when it crossed my path again. Since it called my attention, again, I figured the least I could do was read the inner jacket. The words “Dark-Hunters” followed by the description “immortal vampire slayers who risk everything to save humanity” couldn’t be ignored. But still, “…fellow students are turning into flesh-eating zombies” rang in my mind and again I put it back on the shelf. Then I found myself picking up book two and read that jacket. [Insert description on book two].

It made it onto my to-be-read list.

Fast forward a year, I am excited to pick up this book and start reading the series. It didn’t disappoint. I ended up on a reading bender that last about two and half weeks as I borrowed the books and bought the last two.

What I love about the series so far:

  • The characters. Nick rocks! That is all. Wait, Caleb rocks too. And so does Kyrian and Ash and everybody! I enjoy the main characters as well as the supporting characters. Kenyon has a way of bringing out their personalities naturally, not forcing them to be. And I like that.
  • The story. I like that it’s based on the fact that Nick … #spoileralert  – I’m giving you a chance to skip over this part if you don’t like spoilers. Skip between the hashtags if you don’t want to know – is supposed to destroy the world because in the future he turns evil, but we don’t want him to turn evil, and well, yeah. #endofspoileralert … is what he is. I love that while story has this main arch, there’s so much stories that could go between now and the end. It makes things interesting.
  • A different take on mythology. We have so many stories that use mythology, some done well and some not so much. It always worries me a bit when I read a myth or fairy tale I know well and the author is doing something a little different. It could go wrong in so many ways, but I have to say, curiosity wins in the end. I have to know what their take on a particular myth is. And that’s the way it is with this one. Kenyon seems to pull inspiration on some of the ancient myths, or myths beyond your usually Greek and such. At least, that’s what I’m thinking. There’s a hint of familiarity among the stories she draws from and yet, it’s very different. I was skeptical at first, but now I love what she’s done. As an aspiring historian, I understand that there can be varying degrees of the same story. I like that this series does that.

I can’t wait to see how this series pans out. I found out that this is actually based on one of the characters Kenyon wrote in her adult series, Dark Hunters, and I almost went to hunt that book own so I could “see” what happens to Nick, but I decided against it. I don’t want to spoil my fun with this series. When the series finishes, though, I may just pick that series up … depending on how this series ends.

So, stay tuned. I’ll be attempting to review each of these books while I (im)patiently wait for Invision.